Bummer. Running didn't seem to work out so well for me. After my last post, which sounds so incredibly positive, the pain in my knee increased to the point that John wanted to take me to the emergency room. I was crying, I could barely walk...in fact I could barely sit. It was Sunday, so I took some paid meds left over from one of my surgeries coupled with more ibuprofen and was finally able to get some rest. I called the Orthopedic in the morning for some xrays. Good news: no break or torn ligaments. Bad news: Bursitis/Tendonitis and 4-6 weeks of PT.
I have one week left of PT now and my knee feels good. Everyday tasks are easy, I can get up and down the stairs with no pain. Next task is to start walking long distance again....
And what to do about running? Honestly I'm not sure. I LOVED the feeling of running. I loved the way it made me feel, I love the sense of accomplishment. But I don't have time to be injured. With two little ones to take care of, an injured Mommy is not part of the plan. So I think I'm going to stick to walking. Now to to get out there and actually do the walking....
That being said, I'm actually trying to diet again. I am always saying that I am, but for a little while I pretty much gave it up. I haven't really gained, but I certainly haven't lost. 7 weeks until my cousin's wedding and 8 weeks until vacation at the Cape. I WILL weigh 10 lbs less, maybe more. I know I can do it if I focus on not eating like a pig and sneaking in a little bit of exercise. Which reminds me why I loved running, training for the 5K gave me a reason to get out there...now I just have to do it for my own health...which isn't nearly as glamorous :).
Tomorrow is my first weigh in.
1 comment:
Walking is great for you too. If you ever want someone to walk with, give me a call.
Post a Comment