Woke up this morning and immediately was ready to get out for my run. Today was the start of week three and after two days off and I was ready to get back out there. Knee felt good and off went.
Week 3 consists of:
5 minute brisk walk warm up
90 seconds run
90 seconds walk
3 minute run
3 minute walk
Repeat
I got through the full workout other than cutting the second 3 minute run down to 2 minutes...I was very happy. Then I met up with a neighbor and walked another 20-25 minutes which was nice. Overall a great work out.
Now, I am sitting on the couch with Boo Boo Kitty on my knee. The pain is really bad. I mean, really bad to the point where I almost feel like crying. The ice is making it feel better though. Advil doesn't seem to be doing anything since I was basically pain free after popping a few last time.
So now what? I obviously need to rest. This doesn't seem like normal aches and pains and I'm hoping I didn't hurt myself because I am actually enjoying running, which is something I never thought I would say. I emailed my friend who is a trainer and has a degree in exercise science...he might know an answer, right? I just don't want to go to the doctor to have them tell me "you're out of shape", "strengthen you legs so your knees won't hurt"...which I've heard before.
I have an elliptical downstairs so maybe I can move to that for a week or two. It just isn't the same as running outside. I guess the good thing is that I'm not completely discouraged by this since I'm trying to figure out how I can still exercise.
No comments:
Post a Comment