Saturday, July 17, 2010

Follow up weigh in...

Next week I will actually count my Wednesday weigh in because I'm going to stay ON PROGRAM and actually lose some of this weight! Good news, is that I am down 1 lb. Still 7 lbs to go before the wedding. Eek. Need to get serious.

I think I am going to join a gym this week. Just trying to decide between two of them. The one I used to go to is $19 a month for the basis membership (no classes) but is charging a $49 registration fee which is crap as far as I'm concerned. There is another one in town that is only $20, no registration fee and that includes all the classes. Sounds like a no brainer, but most of my friends go to the other one. I'm going to see if they will give me the same deal. Can't hurt to ask.

I also just had someone give me a quote for house cleaning. I am sick of this place being a disaster, and I just don't have the time or energy to get to the real deep down cleaning. It takes so long to just get the clutter up and not enough time to get to everything else. Just have to convince John, but I think it will be worth it.

Going out tonight to the beach club for our first adult event there...we've never been to any of the dinner & dancing parties. We are going with a friends who are also members and part of my playgroup. Hoping for a fun night out.

Ok, so that's it from here....see you on Wednesday unless I need to blog to stop eating before then.

Wednesday, July 14, 2010

Wednesday Weigh In

I had my knee appointment Monday, no more rehab for me. Doctor didn't think it was necessary, said I just need to build up slowly, ice after exercise if I feel anything at all so it doesn't get super inflammed again. But since it appears that one of my "bursa" is not a happy one, I think I will stay away from running. Which makes me a little sad. I see all of these other people who are able to do it and I wish I could too. The doctor said some people are just good at somethings, and not so good at others. He compared it to runners in Africa, saying people from West Africa have never run a marathon because that is no what their body type is good for, they are the sprinters whereas people from East Africa are shorter and thinner and can handle the marathons. So I'm back to walking, although not sure how far I can go yet.

And then there is the diet. I am sort of bummed today. No loss. No gain. I really thought I would have a loss today. I think I will weigh in again Friday to see if I can get myself a loss for the week. Does this mean I'm changing my weigh in to Friday? No it's more of an accountability gain I'm playing with myself. If nothing else it makes me stay on track for another two days. I have an awful habit of chowing down on weigh in day since I have a week to be good....which is probably really hampering my weight loss.

I almost have another reason to lose weight, other than my own personal health and satisfaction. This is our 5th Year Wedding Anniversary...where has the time gone? Wouldn't it be nice to be the same weight as when I got married? Ok, well that isn't going to quite happen by our anniversary but I can be on the way. But we are also seriously considering a trip to the caribbean for December. There are some great prices. Do you think if I tell John I promise to lose 25 lbs if we book the trip he'd do it :)?

My minigoal is 8 more lbs by August 13th, and total loss of 25 by December. Which is more than doable.

So still 8 lbs to lose to my mini goal....can I say only 6 lbs to lose on Friday? Keeping fingers crossed and my mouth duct taped shut!

Friday, July 09, 2010

Friday check in

Aren't I being so accountable? Maybe this means I'm actually serious about this. Oh wait, if I was actually serious about losing weight I wouldn't eat this many cookies.

A few other updates...I had my last "rehab" session yesterday. Yes, John calls it rehab. I told him I really don't think I need to go to rehab, there are two of my favorite bottles of wine sitting on the counter that I haven't even touched...yet! But it is Friday, so one of those will be going into the fridge soon. :).

Back to rehab....the knee is doing well. But definitely not 100%. I admit I don't do my exercises quite as often as I should, but it's hard. Combine this miserable heat with 2 little monsters who crawl all over me when I try to do them....and who wants to do leg exercises at 9:30 at night? But I'm getting there. I go see the doc on Monday, but the physical therapist thinks it would be good for me to come once a week for a few more weeks, and I don't disagree. She had me do some leg raises with the machine and I could barely lift the 1 lb weight....but I did make it all the way around the block last night without feeling any twinges of pain so that is a very good sign.

Well, my kids are playing in the back by themselves so I should probably go check on them. But there is no screaming and no fighting so sometimes I think it's better to just let them play. They fight more when we are around. And Molly will report in if Jack is doing something dangerous, or has done something to him.

John: Molly why is Jack crying?
Molly: Daddy, I didn't even bite him!
Jack: (pointing to his arm) Boo Boo. boo boo.
John: Jack, did Molly bite you?
Molly: I didn't bite his arm. I bit his face.

And good news on the diet front...I am back to the same weight I was last week so I am happy about that. Just means I need to buckle down and hope for a 2+ loss this week. 5 weeks to my cousins wedding and 8 lbs to lose. It would really help if I could workout.

Wednesday, July 07, 2010

Weigh In Week 2

Let's just say the long holiday weekend was disasterous for a diet.

Trying to regroup and stay away from the cookies, which I was not successful at yesterday. And is it bad to blame the heat for my eating? It's all about convenience and what is available right now....I'll report in on Friday with an update.