Friday, January 16, 2009

Wide Awake...

Yes, I should be sleeping. But I'm not. My head is spinning. Yesterday was yet another draining and emotional day.

I woke up to a pretty low glucose number, and felt a little off. Shortly after I had a pretty decent contraction and then, a few more. I started timing them and asked John to wait a while before going to work to see if they kept up. They did....even after a shower! Woohoo! After 2 hours I was having them ever 3-5 minutes, which is the most consistent they have ever been other than when I was on pitocin the other day. Great sign! I called the doctor, she had me come in for a check and I was 2 cms...even better! She said all signs indicated that I was on my way, I was contracting, cervix looked good......

We headed over to Mary's house so that if things progressed Molly would be there. I continued having contractions throughout the afternoon, all between 2-6 minutes apart. If I sat for a while they would slow down but walking got them going right up again so I tried walking as much as I could. After another 6 hrs of contracting, I called the doc again and they had me come down to Yale. Yale??? But we got to St. Ray's.....they were inducing a patient there and had no patients at St. Ray's..ok fine. So we go down there...still only 2 cms and baby is still too high to consider breaking my water to get things moving. Are you serious???? She told me I could walk around for a bit to see if I progressed but I said no, I'll just go home...again...

So off we went, stopped for some Mexican food. The nurse suggested a glass of wine to relax, which I poured the minute I got home. Watched Grey's and Private Practice, which made me start crying when the guy chose his daughter over the son...ugh heartbreaking...still getting teary thinking about it. Finally fell asleep. Been up a few times to pee and now can't fall back to sleep at all.

My head is just spinning. Between, what was that feeling? Did it break...nope. Is this spotting/bleeding normal? I'm sure it's just from the multiple exams over the past few days. What happens tomorrow? Do I really want to go in for another night of cervidil? How long do I have to be on the pitocin before they offer the c-section? Will she let me have a couple more days to see if the little guy comes on his own? He appears to be doing so well in there, and I've had more than enough non stress tests to show it. Maybe we can hold off on inducing until Sunday or Monday....and then what happens? What if I'm still only 2 cms on Monday? Can I just opt for a c/s on Tuesday? How many days of contracting naturally vs. pitocin do I have to go through if the baby just isn't going to move down?

Aren't we supposed to actually have a newborn before we have sleepless nights?

1 comment:

Vicky said...

Uggh...I feel so bad the little guy is taking so long to come. Wish I could do something for you. ((HUGS))