I need to get out of the mindset that a few allowances here and there will be ok...at least not now. It's one thing to splurge when you are at your goal weight, or even on your way there. But I'm barely out of the starting blocks and I sabotage myself. I just don't like having to deprive myself of what I want foodwise, I feel like I should be able to eat whatever I want. But do I want to be able to eat what I want, or lose 20 lbs? What's more important? I wish I knew. This weekend it was eating whatever I wanted. And now the guilt has set in.
There are a few good things that came from this weekend. John and I had a great dinner out, it was nice to be back at the Playwright again. We don't get to spend nearly enough time with just the two of us. And we get a night away this weekend...cousin Dee's wedding woohoo!
The other good thing was I re-joined the gym. I've been thinking about it for a while and finally did it. I have at least 4 friends who go to the same gym I used to go to and they go on a regular basis so I'm hoping we can set dates and I will get there. It feels so good to be back there and working out. I plan to go at least twice, hopefully 3 or 4 times a week. I'm starting sort of slow, I still haven't done a whole lot with the knee since getting out of physical therapy. I was able to walk a little over 1.5 miles yesterday, although going faster than 2.8 on the treadmill makes the knee start to hurt...so I'm not going super fast but at least I'm going. I figure building up slowly and eventually I'll be back up to a regular speed. The elliptical seems to be the best option. Virtually no pain at all and able to go a regular pace.
I also need to figure out how to get rid of this neck pain from sleeping. Ouch! Every morning I wake up with pain in my right neck/shoulder. Getting old.
Welcome to my blog! I live in CT with my wonderful husband and children. We got married in August 2005. Our first child, Molly, was born on Halloween 2006. Jack was born on Inauguration Day, January 20, 2009. I was fortunate to take 15 months off when Molly was born but was back in the professional working world for the past 4+ years. Now I am back at home, and figuring it out.
Monday, August 09, 2010
Friday, August 06, 2010
Happy 5th Anniversary!
Five years ago today John and I got married....I can't believe 5 years have gone by so fast! It's been a great time though and can't wait for some many more.
I've been doing pretty well on SB...yesterday was by far my best day. Today so far so good. It's 3:16 pm right now and we're heading into the the serious witching hours. Hunger/boredom sets in....and staying away from those lovely carbs gets more and more difficult. But I'm trying. I just ate a half of a zucchini with some ranch dressing. Hopefully John will be home soon so we can go out to the pool for a bit, staying busy prevents eating. Then we're off to another anniversary dinner. I think we'll just head to the Playwright. Wednesday we celebrated too but had a fancier dinner so tonight we'll go to our favorite location. Going to do my best to stay on the plan....
I've been doing pretty well on SB...yesterday was by far my best day. Today so far so good. It's 3:16 pm right now and we're heading into the the serious witching hours. Hunger/boredom sets in....and staying away from those lovely carbs gets more and more difficult. But I'm trying. I just ate a half of a zucchini with some ranch dressing. Hopefully John will be home soon so we can go out to the pool for a bit, staying busy prevents eating. Then we're off to another anniversary dinner. I think we'll just head to the Playwright. Wednesday we celebrated too but had a fancier dinner so tonight we'll go to our favorite location. Going to do my best to stay on the plan....
Wednesday, August 04, 2010
SB Day 3
Breakfast: 3 scrambled eggs and two slices of ham
Snack: 2 mozzarella sticks
Lunch: slices of turkey and ham, cucumbers & zuccini dipped in some lite ranch dressing.
So far so good.
Snack: 2 mozzarella sticks
Lunch: slices of turkey and ham, cucumbers & zuccini dipped in some lite ranch dressing.
So far so good.
Tuesday, August 03, 2010
SB Day 2
Day 1 didn't go so well. I take that back, it wasn't horrible, but I didn't follow all the rules. I couldn't resist the group trip to the Agave Taco cart in the park. The pulled chicken burrito was quite tasty though, and very filling. Kept me full until my salad with chicken for dinner, followed by a sugar free jello for dessert. I've done a bit more research on it, I just love ivillage.com message boards. The book I have is quite old and apparently they have made some changes, including a dairy requirement of 2 cups of 1% or skim a day or some plain yogurt (blech). Trying my best....wish I had some veggies to munch on right now though. I am going to need to slice stuff up and bring it with me. Hopefully I'm also able to stick with it at home....the junk food is so hard to resist on a long day with the kidlets. But it needs to be done.
Monday, August 02, 2010
I stink at weight loss
Yup, I do. I have no will power at all. I am good for a week or two and then we go away for the weekend, have a party or heck, just the weekend rolls around and everything goes out the window.
Today I am going to start the South Beach Diet. We'll see how it goes. The first 2 weeks is supposed to be Zero carbs, including no alcohol. Really? Let's see, I have an event tomorrow night at J. Tim's and I will be eating dirt wings and beer....and Friday is our anniversary and I will most defintely be drinking wine. I figure I can work the menu into my diet somehow.....but I'm giving it a go.
Today I am going to start the South Beach Diet. We'll see how it goes. The first 2 weeks is supposed to be Zero carbs, including no alcohol. Really? Let's see, I have an event tomorrow night at J. Tim's and I will be eating dirt wings and beer....and Friday is our anniversary and I will most defintely be drinking wine. I figure I can work the menu into my diet somehow.....but I'm giving it a go.
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)