Tuesday, July 29, 2008

Summer is half over already?

I can't believe how fast the summer is going by, which confirms my theory that this pregnancy will go by fast...I think I already discussed that. But when it was July 25, Christmas in July, the other day I realized, wow still 6 months until Christmas???? That seems really far away when I think of it that way. One day at a time, right?

So things are good here. Baby bump is definitely getting bigger. More pregnancy like. I've thought I felt a couple little flutters and even a kick but it seems early. So who knows. I like to think it is because I didn't get the doppler this time so I'm going crazy between doctor visits. It seems like such a long time to know that everything is ok in there. My next visit is August 7th. Only another week. I also think I'm going to start monitoring my blood sugar. The doctor told me there is a chance I won't have gestational diabetes again this time, but I highly doubt it. I took a test after dinner tonight and I was fine, but didn't really have a lot of carbs. It was actually a pretty decent meal for me. But I feel like in the late afternoons I'm starting to feel really sick, could just be the heat and pregnancy in general but I'm wondering if it's my blood sugar levels going wacky already. They say that GD shouldn't kick in until 24-26 weeks...but who knows.

We have been pretty busy, and seem to be having a good week. Molly was having some serious biting issues over the past couple weeks but I started putting her immediately into time out in her crib whenever she did it. I try not to use the crib as time out, but she generally won't stay in time out and runs away laughing at me. So into the crib she goes and I think she may finally get the idea that it isn't acceptable. I've also tried the "Mommy Likes Kisses" Theory so I get a lot of those now too.

On Thursday I leave for my wine convention in Boston for 3 nights...yikes! I'm really excited, but nervous and kind of sad to be leaving John and Molly for that long. John and I haven't been apart that long since I moved in here...crazy I know, but we've never had a reason to be apart for that long. They will have fun though and it will be a much needed break for me.

Here are a couple pictures John took of Molly at dinner tonight. She thinks she's so cute :). And another one below from a visit over at the Hannan's a while ago, but I never got around to posting it.


Wednesday, July 09, 2008

12 weeks, almost 1/3 done!

Trying to stay positive right? Actually, the timing of this pregnancy seems to make things go faster because it really doesn't seem like the fall and the holidays are that far away...I know they always come so much faster than expected.

I had my 12 week appointment yesterday and everything was great! I heard the heartbeat, although he wasn't able to find it at first and had to do an ultrasound (aww shucks :)!) I wasn't really that nervous though because I know 12 weeks can be early to hear the heartbeat, I think last time it wasn't until 14 weeks when I heard it. I also had a feeling he wasn't listening in the right area. Which was the case, he was listening too low. So I got a little sneak peak of the baby and it has grown so much already. At 8 weeks it was really just a little bean and now it really looks like a baby. Amazing. So I have another appointment at 16 weeks and then the big ultrasound at 20 weeks, which will be the first week of September I believe. And yes, we will be finding out the gender this time around. I'm excited to know this time.

Ok, so apparently Molly isn't sleeping anymore. I ventured out to the beach this morning which was lovely, but I really wish I had a child who would sit still for more 30 seconds. We get to the beach, set up. Molly plays in the sand for maybe a minute before she is heading back up the stairs. Up the stairs, over to the boats, back, oh wait more stairs...eat, eat at table. Fishies!!! Swing, slide, beach, stairs, more stairs. I'm one tired Mommy. And the worst is that she fell asleep as we got off the highway, which means she napped for 10 minutes and is now apparently done. I should just get her up and try again in an hour or two.

Yawn.